General Discussion Triathlon Talk » HELP!!! Need Inspiration/Motivation Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2008-01-28 5:53 AM

Veteran
South Florida
Subject: HELP!!! Need Inspiration/Motivation
Right now I'm in a huge rut. I started training a while ago, did good for a few months. Then it seems like everything came crahing down around me. You see, we had a huge tragedy in my family, my brother was killed in a car accident. It destroyed my family. My parents are a mess, I'm a mess, it's insane. I have a wife and 2 small children. I can't believe I have to still raise them with all this pain inside. My brother was divorced but had two kids which I don't get to see anymore because I never got along with his X-wife. They moved away, this crushed my parents even more, we're all very close. My wife handled all the funeral arrangements, it's hell on her, she's now on meds for panic/anxiety attacks. I own my own business which kinda fell apart during all this, (my brother was my partner) it's slowly getting back on track now. To top it off, I started smoking again and gained back 20 lbs. I guess I'm just venting, or looking for outside help. I don't think I'll ever be back to normal. I guess i should just worry about my family rather than tri training. Now that I wrote everything down it seems almost impossible to overcome.
Thanks for listening,
Mike

2008-01-28 6:15 AM
in reply to: #1179199

User image

Champion
Fairport, NY
Subject: RE: HELP!!! Need Inspiration/Motivation

Wow, I'm so sorry.

Have you considered grief counseling?  It can only help.

Some training, if you can get it in, isn't just taking time away from your family. If it helps to get you to lose some weight, stop smoking and/or feel a bit better then it's to their benefit too. You being in good health is in your kid's best interest.

2008-01-28 6:23 AM

User image

Extreme Veteran