General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Broken left hip-- Sucks to be me Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2008-02-06 8:16 PM

User image

New user

Subject: Broken left hip-- Sucks to be me
I'm a beginner at Tri. Having lost alot of weight in 2007, and gotten down to my ideal weight I was looking for something to help keep me motivated with my exercise regiments. Starting this past Thanksgiving, I started training for my first Sprint Tri. Then about a month ago, I fell off of my bike on my left side when my front tire hit a little ice as I was leaving for my morning ride. Turns out I broke my left hip. They took me into surgery, put in a plate, and a bunch of screws. I'm still not able to put any weight on my left leg, and have to get around with an old man walker. Supposively, I'll get to go back to work in a month or so, and will be released for all training MID APRIL (with some intermediate releases before then)!!

Any suggestions anyone has for me on training as I'm gradually released by my doctor would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

2008-02-07 6:06 AM
in reply to: #1198290

User image

Champion
Sarasota, FL
Subject: RE: Broken left hip-- Sucks to be me

Sorry to hear about your accident and surgery.  Not exactly the same thing, but I had open-heart surgery seven years ago.  I was able to start working out about three months post-op, but it took me about nine months to get where I felt "normal" again.  Best advice I can give is to follow your doctor's orders and be patient.  You'll probably have some good days and bad days, so be prepared for that.  Listen to your body and be careful of pushing too hard too soon.

Best wishes.

Mark

2008-02-07 7:35 AM

User image

Veteran
Northern Virginia