General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Swim question - getting frustrated with progress! Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2008-05-30 8:25 AM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Subject: Swim question - getting frustrated with progress!

I am relatively new to the sport having only completed to sprint tri's, but have 3 more sprints in June, my first Oly at the end of July and a HIM in Oct.  I am making really good strides on the bike, and had a good running background coming into the sport.  I have been working hard on my swimming but do not feel like I am getting anywhere.  I have the TI video, and have also worked once with a coach,  but the lesson only lasted 30 minutes and I was then given drills to work on which I do, dilligently.  30 minutes really isnt a lot of time to get much accomplished but most swim coaches are in the neighborhood of $100/hr and I need more that a 30 minute time slot.   I swim early before work, right after the masters group finishes their swim and I talked with the lady that runs the masters swim and she said they most do intervals and work on speed.  Ok, that is definitely not for me.  I do the drills over and over and get a good 1500 meters in each session, which is a lot for me, but when I try to go longer distances without stopping, I just can't do it.  Maybe 400 at a pop, then I need about 15 secs to recover.  I must not be doing something right, stroke-wise.....just not efficient.  I want to make sure I am not reinforcing bad habits, but without someone really watching, there is no way to tell.

Any suggestions?  Thanks in advance!

Brian

2008-05-30 8:28 AM
in reply to: #1432749

User image

Master
New York
Subject: RE: Swim question - getting frustrated with progress!
Trail_Runner - 2008-05-30 8:25 AM