General Discussion Triathlon Talk » i need bike and swim guidance Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-02-20 3:27 PM

New user

Central PA
Subject: i need bike and swim guidance
Two questions:

I am in need of a starter bike (I am new to the sport and am just now starting to train for my first tri). My budget is only $200 - $300. I know I probably can't get much for that, but what would you all recommend? Also, how feasible do you think it is for someone with 0 ability to swim to be able to do 1/2 mile open lake in 5 months. The training would be at the local Y.
How often? How long per session? I ordered "Total Immersion" and "Fitness Swimmer". Will these books help? Thank you for any advice.

2004-02-20 3:44 PM
in reply to: #8502

Extreme Veteran
PohangSi
Subject: RE: i need bike and swim guidance

Regarding swimming 1/2 mile in 5 months. Yes, I think it's doable. Did my first tri when I was 18, many moons ago. I had no swim training, and spent way too few hours in the pool preparing. I think I swam the distance in the pool once or twice. Trained for 3 months for the 1/2 ironman. 1.2 mile lake swim. I finished it, though I breast stroked most of it. Silly 18 year old. Getting those books is a great idea, and if you try and put in 3 sessions a week for 5 months, should be no problem. I'd reccomend working your long swim up to a mile. It'll give you confidence and the 1/2 will seem like a walk in the park. Take it slow starting out and keep at it. Good luck and have fun.

JD

2004-02-20 4:22 PM

, Alabama

My recommendation for the starter bike is to check with the local bike shops.  Sometimes they have used ones or know people trying to sell their old bike.  Also, we have a free paper called Florida Sports Magazine.  I don't know if you have something equivalent.  We get them at sporting good stores, gyms, local YMCAs, etc.  Anyway, if you have something like that, it may have classified ads.

Sharon

2004-02-20 4:22 PM

Extreme Veteran