General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Toes go numb on Bike Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2008-07-14 2:43 PM

New user

Subject: Toes go numb on Bike

I am new to Tri, but have been a recreational bike rider most of my life. I am 6-5 250lbs, In the process of losing weight, I have been riding more and more. I have the split rear seat to releave pressure. Problem is, I still have some numbness on right side and after about 5 miles, my right big toe goes numb. I have always thought that it was due to my size and that there is nothing that can be done.

Does anyone have a suggestion?

cd

2008-07-14 3:18 PM
in reply to: #1528787

User image

Master
Subject: RE: Toes go numb on Bike
My feet were falling asleep regularly when I began riding.  I got rid of the socks so I could feel where I was putting the most pressure on my foot, moved my cleat up just a tad and started standing up on the pedals about every 15 minutes to let the blood flow.  Much better now.
2008-07-14 3:29 PM

User image

Veteran
..when I had my tri bike fit, my trainer noticed I have a very high arch..he told me flat out I'd experience numbness on long rides..my longest ride has only been 2 hours..so I don't know about distances farther than that..but I have yet to feel the tingle---high arch maybe?
2008-07-15 8:53 AM

User image

Master
Millersville, MD

I too used to have this, but it was my little toe on both feet.  I'd suggest first that if you haven't been professionally fitted to your bike, you should do so.  Most places that fit include a free follow up sessions to make adjustments as necessary.  They should keep tinkering with your cleat position, or maybe even adjust your seat forward or back a bit to play around with angles... maybe even a new pedal/cleat combination.  For me it was a real bother... very distracting.  And it was downright uncomfortable when I got off the bike and started to run, although circulation would return a few minutes into that activity.

Good luck.