General Discussion Triathlon Talk » First Tri HELP!!! PLEASE Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2008-07-25 5:12 PM

New user

Subject: First Tri HELP!!! PLEASE

Hey all--- so my first tri is coming up on Aug 10, and I guess I don't really know what to expect. I'm comfortable with all my training and my performance, but the only problem is I don't have any "gear." I don't own a tri or road bike. I've only been swimming in a jammer swim suit. I don't have a wet suit, nor do I own tri shirt/shorts, etc. Basically, everything I have is from my days as either a swimmer, a casual biker, or a runner.  This is my first time putting it all together...

Am I going to be completely out of place? Will I even be able to race? I went over the checklist that BT provides, but I don't have a race belt or anything... can someone please either reassure me that it's not necessary to have all this, or at least tell me what I do need? (I plan on doing more tri's, but I wanted to see what my first experience was like before I made any purchases) I am VERY new to this.

Thanks!!!

2008-07-25 5:20 PM
in reply to: #1560164

Subject: RE: First Tri HELP!!! PLEASE

Nope. It's not necessary. 

Don't worry, okay? Everything will go fine. No, you won't be out of place at all. Everyone has their first time, and it's stupid to buy hundreds of bucks worth of gear, if you turn out to not like it at all.  There will be a number of other first-timers at you're race, I'm sure. My first race was a few weeks ago, and there were a number of people on mountain bikes. You don't need all the gear. I had no wetsuit, and I just put a t-shirt and shorts over my swimsuit and biked in my running shoes--no fancy clip ons for me! Everything will go fine, just don't push yourself. Take your time and have fun!

2008-07-25 5:21 PM

User image

SC
As far as swim goes. If the water is warm enough jammers will be fine.