United States
98F / 37C
Sunny
Total Time = 13h 45m 45s
Overall Rank = 159/401
Age Group = M40-44
Age Group Rank = 22/46
Pre-race routine:

I’ve been doing short course triathlon races and HIM’s since 2006, it became my dream to do an IM, so I bought Don Fink’s book “IronFit”, because it got good reviews, and read it cover to cover. Then I tried to sign up for IM Lake Placid, because I could have driven there from Boston. It was sold out already a year in advance, so I looked for other unofficial races and eventually signed up for the Full Vineman, which Don Fink recommended in his book. This race was also at the right time of the year for me (I’m getting married in October). Anyway, I used Don Fink’s Competitive Training Program in his book, didn’t go snowboarding at all, because I was afraid to get injured and tried to follow the program as close as possible. In hindsight, I should have done more strength training. Something was often hurting, which made me cut back in the Z4 training zones. I also lost a couple of weekends due to colds and/or allergies, but otherwise I kept up with the training program and it finally let me to finishing this race without getting injured at all.

Anyway, the night before the race I ate pasta with shrimp and then had chocolate ice cream (possibly too much). On race day I got up at 4 AM, ate two power bars and made myself drink two bike bottles of accelerade. At around 5 AM my fiancée drove me to T1 (I wanted to bike there to warm up, but she insisted on driving me).

Event warmup: