General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Gear Shifting Drama--Please Help Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2008-08-25 8:28 PM

User image

San Antonio
Subject: Gear Shifting Drama--Please Help
I am a beginner and am enjoying building my base, but boy let me tell you I can't WAIT to get out of my thumb-sucking phase.

The bike ride kicked the sh*t out of me!! I really wanted to ride and it was getting late, and furthermore a thunderstorm was forming, so I prayed the Lord be merciful to me and let me get at least a good bit of a ride in. And He was :-).

Being as late as it was, I chose to ride around my neighborhood and see how my gear-shifting goes on the natural rolling hills in my area. I quickly found out these hills aren't THAT small after all!! I only rode 5.4 miles in a half hour and much of that was at a snail's pace (save for the lightning spins downhill...that was fun) and spent much of the time struggling with the gear shifting.

I am very much a novice at shifting gears, and being an arts major, I understand pictures far better than numbers. When someone says "low" or "high," "third" or "fourth," I have to whip out the instruction book. It's taken me several rides to get anywhere with the gears because I always seem to get lost somewhere in the middle....but I think it has FINALLY sunk in.