General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Tri coach or run coach or ....? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2008-11-26 2:17 PM

User image

Subject: Tri coach or run coach or ....?

I've done all right just making up my own plans the last four years, even up through IM (based on others' plans), but I think it's time to directly address the elephant in the room I call my "run,"  and thinking maybe a coach is a way to go

I don't need swim coaching, bike coaching maybe at some point, but I am pleased with where the bike is right now.  Although I am also pleased with my run progression in the last 4 years, it's time to do more.

Should I be looking for a run specific coach and jsut add my own S/B?   Or is there enough interplay between S/B and run that I should be looking at a tri coach, and have them focus on running? Or something else entirely?

2008-11-26 2:25 PM
in reply to: #1827785

Expert
Southeast
Subject: RE: Tri coach or run coach or ....?
I have lots of experience with various levels of run coaching, none with tri.  My experience suggests that you might encounter some difficulty (not impossibility, just difficulty) finding a run-only coach who is sympathetic to your 'other' pursuits.  If you can find one who is willing to take your swimming and biking into account when developing a plan, and has some experience with runners who are not 100% committed to running only, then I don't see a compelling reason not to go with one.  But if it were me, I'd look for a tri coach who has a serious background in running.
2008-11-26 2:31 PM

User image

Coach
Boston, MA
If you are focusing on Tris *I* would get a tri-coach. I good and experienced one who undestands the sport and who will be to help you improve yes in running but in all the 3 sports.
2008-11-26 2:32 PM

User image

Cycling Guru
Fulton, MD