General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Ironman Brand Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 3

2008-11-29 10:54 AM

Williamsburg VA
Subject: Ironman Brand
I have been doing tri's now for about 4 years and I am starting to consider the possibility of an iron distance race in 2010. My issue is Ironman vs iron distance? I, like so many others, would love to complete an Ironman sponsored race,..... but $525!!?? There are other iron distance races for much less, around $300. I just read an article about this and one of the points mentioned was that most triathletes had plenty of disposable income with an average yearly income of $160,000. Well, that's not me. Triathlon is an expensive sport, but I try to be as reasonable as possible with my expenditures. But, despite the cost, it is the IRONMAN. If you train for months and even years, don't you want to be able to call yourself an official Ironman. Would it bother you to have to explain the difference to everyone who asks you about your iron distance race? Some may consider the brand issue as superficial, but apparently many do not. Just look at the diference in participation. Non-Ironman races rarely fill and may average 400 or so participants. Ironmans sell out in hours with thousands of participants. Do I suck it up and shell out the extra cash for the lable or do I keep it reasonable and do an iron distance race? Anyone else conflicted?

2008-11-29 11:05 AM
in reply to: #1830212

User image

Expert
Henderson, NV
Subject: RE: Ironman Brand
Obviously it would be an issue for you so I say shell out the extra dough.  You will be happier when it is all said and done.  It really is about personal preference.  For the record, I have never heard of someone say that a non Ironman race was less of an accomplishment than a Ironman sponsored race.
2008-11-29 11:08 AM

User image

Extreme Veteran