General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Training while sick... Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-02-06 12:03 PM

User image

Veteran
Thibodaux
Subject: Training while sick...

I had a 90 minute run planned for today & woke up with a scratchy throat & a slight headache. I'm also nursing a sore quad since my speed workout on Wed. Tried to do the run anyway & felt like I was carrying a hundred lb weight on my back. I did 45 min. by the hardest & plan to try again tomorrow for the 90. Did I make a mistake by even going out and did I hurt my chance of being able to finish that 90 tomorrow? It's also 20 degrees warmer here that it has been in 2 weeks.

Cathy

2009-02-06 1:43 PM
in reply to: #1949253

New user

La Jolla
Subject: RE: Training while sick...

I'm not a pro, but I feel you should of used all of your energy to get better and heal that leg.  I wouldn't of gone out.

tom

2009-02-06 2:48 PM

User image

Veteran
Sarasota, Florida

For me, the general rule of thumb is that if you have a fever, do not train at all.  Exercise raises your core temp, and with a fever you could be pushing that to dangerous levels.  If you don't have a fever, then train if you feel up to it.  Low intensity, short duration exercise should be fine, but high intensity or high volume training may hinder your immune system's ability to fight an infection and heal other injuries (like your quad).  In other words, it probably won't kill you, but your illness may be prolonged.  It's up to you which is more important.  

In cases like this, I'd recommend someone train to what they can do rather than what a program says they're supposed to do that day.  Coaches and athletes control the program, not the other way around. 

2009-02-06 3:48 PM

User image

Veteran
Thibodaux