General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Creating a training plan....need help Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-04-03 4:47 AM

User image

Regular
Baltimore, MD
Subject: Creating a training plan....need help

Looking for recomendations/referals or direct help in coming up with a personalized training plan for this season.  Im having trouble merging many programs together as Im doing a variety of races.  My races include: Half-marathon (May 3), Sprint (5/31), 10miler (June 20), Oly (July 11), Half-lite (Aug 2), and Marathon (Oct 25).  I started training the first of the year and am up to 3 hours of swimming, 5 bike, and 3 run a week with some yoga/spin thrown in.

Im willing to pay for a professionally customized programs for the entire year but am looking to keep it under $200.  Is that unreasonable?  

Anyone have someone they like? 

Thanks in advance for your recommendations!

Justin

2009-04-03 6:14 AM
in reply to: #2059803

User image

Champion
Montague Gold Mines, Nova Scotia
Subject: RE: Creating a training plan....need help

As you are already a bronze member here it may be worth it to consider upgrading to gold; with that you will recieve access to several training plans and also to the training support forum where you can pose questions to the coaches throughout the season.

Shane

2009-04-03 6:46 AM

User image

Expert
Madison, MS

I also suggest that you pick one or two races as "A" races (opposite ends of the season) and then prioritize the others as "B" or "C" races. You can't expect to have your "best" race at all of them; nor can you expect to train effectively to have your "best" race at all of them. By prioritizing them, you (or anyone coaching you) can focus a training plan appropriately.