General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Road bike, converted hybrid, or neither? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2005-04-06 7:00 PM

User image

Veteran
Madison, WI
Subject: Road bike, converted hybrid, or neither?
I have started getting more into my bike training now that the weather is nice and I got reamed by Bear and others about not riding long enough. Now I have a bike question:

I bought a hybrid for getting around town last year before I started training. It's a 2003 Fuji Supreme:
http://www.fujibikes.com/comfort/bike.asp?category_short_name=comfo...

I am going to be getting my tax refund in a little bit, which as a student is my only windfall/big purchase money of the year. I was considering either buying a used road bike (can I get a decent one under 600 dollars?) or converting my hybrid by putting on high pressure slicks and clamp on aerobars, and clipless pedals-hope I have the terms right?

So what do people think either way? or should I just keep my current bike setup like it is and tri with that?

Disadvantages of my current bike: comfort on longer rides, no hamstring action with reg pedals, nobbier tires (though not mtb tires)

I know it all comes down to a personal decision, but I have no idea if i can get a decent used bike for this amount of cash, if it would even make a difference to set up my bike like this.

One added reason not to convert to thinner slick tires would be that I ride my bike to school and though the bike paths I train on are smooth, the roads are not always so smooth. Also, I kind of like the upright position for visibility reason when cutting through traffic.

Edited by lablover 2005-04-06 7:02 PM

2005-04-06 8:03 PM
in reply to: #139067

User image

Expert
Subject: RE: Road bike, converted hybrid, or neither?