General Discussion Triathlon Talk » OWS near Southern Tier, NY Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-05-10 8:56 PM

User image

Subject: OWS near Southern Tier, NY
I am new to triathlon training.  Of all 3 legs I am most concerned with the Swim.  I recently joined a gym and started swimming to perpare for a my first sprint tri.  I would like to get atleast one OWS in before the race in July but am not sure where to do this in upstate NY.  Looking for advice.

2009-05-11 5:47 AM
in reply to: #2142153

User image

Champion
Fairport, NY
Subject: RE: OWS near Southern Tier, NY
Depends exactly where you're looking. "Upstate NY" and "near the southern tier" are still pretty big areas. Pretty much any lake would be fine, we have plenty of those in NY. Just make sure you're with someone.

Most public beaches will open in June so it shouldn't be too hard to find somewhere before race day. If the race is near you, I'd try to swim there in the weeks leading up to it.

2009-05-11 7:29 AM

Subject: ...
This user's post has been ignored.
2009-05-11 8:20 PM
in reply to: #2142463

Thanks for the reply!  I'd be lost without the resources of the website

I live in Binghamton NY but I am willing to travel to get a good OWS.  My wife and I kayak so I plan to have her Kayak near me while I swim.

I am considering the Broome County Triathlon for my 1st tri but I don't think Dorchester allows you to swim outside of the swimming area and I think that is small.

Cayuga Lake is fairly close so I was considering trying there.  Any ideas on a good "launching" point.

Thanks again for the help!
2009-05-12 4:36 AM

Bob
Binghamton, NY

Hey Jamie!