General Discussion Triathlon Talk » keep missing workouts, vicious cycle... Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2005-04-15 3:02 PM

Memphis
Subject: keep missing workouts, vicious cycle...
Help, need advice, tips, motivation, a...chewing, etc.
Here's the background:
-married, 2 boys -4&2yrs, work full time pharm. sales so some days are flexible but I have the working mom's guilt so when I finish early I get my boys a.s.a.p.
-I am a former golfer, college and mini-tour: love golf, it's my passion but it just does not fit into my life time wise (love time with my family more
So to fill that void, I started training for triathlons which is very similar to golf in that there is always something to improve/practice or train for, but unlike golf I can train early in the a.m.

Here's my problem, I am so tired in the morning I keep missing my workouts. I have a great beginner plan to follow each day, totally mapped out for my anal side and I'm exhausted and very frustrated. My only time is early before work and I keep missing it, I joined a master's swim team and also a weekly running clinic that are all in the morning. I am just not getting my butt out of bed and so I feel miserable the rest of the day. It's a vicious cycle- has anyone else been through a rut like this???

thanks

2005-04-15 3:08 PM
in reply to: #143125

User image

Master
South Florida
Subject: RE: keep missing workouts, vicious cycle...
I am not a morning person so I can relate...Is there anyone you can train with? someone who will be waiting outside your door at 5am, or whatever ungodly hour it is. Did you lay everything out the night before, right by the door? Maybe just try to get out 2 mornings a week, then 3 then 4 etc....if you only have to get out on tues/thurs, it's not all or none. just 2 mornings. then as you see it's do-able, you could add another day, until your schedule is adjusted. good luck. I hate mornings.
2005-04-15 3:11 PM

User image

COURT JESTER
ROCKFORD, IL