General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Am I having delusions of grandeur? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2009-06-01 6:27 PM

User image

Master
Guilford, CT
Subject: Am I having delusions of grandeur?
So, I started training in January for a sprint that is next week.  Not too long ago I started thinking I could go longer and have targeted an olympic and now a half that I want to do.  Then last week my wife talked me into doing a marathon on about a month after the half ironman.  So, suddenly my race schedule is shaping up to look like this:

Sprint - 6/7
Oly - 8/30
Sprint - 9/12
Half IM - 9/20
Mary - 10/18

2009-06-01 6:52 PM
in reply to: #2187780

User image

Cycling Guru
Fulton, MD
Subject: RE: Am I having delusions of grandeur?
Well, you certainly have the volume going to ramp things up.  While it does not appear to be a problem to get the training in as necessary, my only question would be ...... why??  You don't have to do it all in one season and even for someone who has been doing it a while, doing a HIM and then a marathon a few weeks later is a big task.  Throw in that you have not done either distance before (and haven't even completed your first tri race yet) and I would say take your time!!  You have no idea how your body will recover from the 1/2 and marathon training (when done properly) is a big chunk of training time and effort.

Based on what I saw in your logs, I think you could do it.  I would just advise against that path personally.  You just started on this journey, you don't need to do it all at once!  But your training is looking solid.

Edited by Daremo 2009-06-01 6:53 PM
2009-06-01 7:29 PM

User image

Champion
Columbia, South Carolina
No comment on the wisdom of doing a mary so soon after HIM.  I'm inexperienced, but I have done both, and the HIM felt harder.  (That may be because it was hotter and I screwed up the pacing.)
2009-06-01 7:48 PM
in reply to: #2187826

User image

Master
Breckenridge, CO