General Discussion Triathlon Talk » When should I race first? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-06-04 12:57 PM

User image

Subject: When should I race first?
I recently decided I wanted to try a sprint triathlon.  I have no background in any of the three areas apart from riding my bike to work occasionally. 

Since making this decision I have done as much research as possible.  More importantly, I have gotten off of my lazy but.  I have a basic workout program that I've started this week and I feel comfortable with it so far.  Swimming will be my biggest challenge.  Right now I can only free 75 yards or so without feeling like I'm going to die.  I plan to swim 3 times a week and am modifying the 0 to 1650 program to fit where I am now (can't complete the exercises at this point). 

I know I can finish the biking and running portions.  My question is this.....What would be a good first race for me?  I have a somewhat busy summer schedule in terms of travel so my weekend options are limited.  I was thinking of the Midwest Mayhem on July 19th.  Is this reasonable?  I think a bit later in the summer would be ideal but I'd probably have to wait until September with my schedule and I'm not that patient!!!!

Going even crazier, would attempting the the Tinman on June 20th be advisable if my swimming progresses?

Side note.....I've picked up a vibe that KLM is not well liked.  Are these events poorly run and should I avoid them? 

What's the deal between races that are or are not sanctioned?  Will a newbie like me care either way?  Thanks!  Can't wait to get my butt kicked!

2009-06-04 2:14 PM
in reply to: #2195157

User image

Alpharetta, Georgia
Bronze member
Subject: RE: When should I race first?
Hi, and welcome to BT and triathlons!!