General Discussion Race Reports! » 2009 Arizona Road Racers Summer Series #4 Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

2009 Arizona Road Racers Summer Series #4 - Run5k

View Member's Race Log View other race reports
Tempe, Arizona
United States
Arizona Road Racers
94F / 34C
Sunny
Total Time = 23m 25s
Overall Rank = 234/675
Age Group =
Age Group Rank = 26/53
Pre-race routine:

I ate a couple of protein bars before leaving in the morning.
Event warmup:

I've never tried this before but since the race was only a few miles from the house, I decided to try riding my bike to the race. I got about two pedals from my driveway when I noticed my back tire was wobbling. It had been running a bit low the last few times I had gone riding but this time it was completely flat. I figured that I'd try to pump it up and if that didn't work then I'd just drive to the race. A while back I'd gotten one of those quick inflate CO2 cartridges. Even though my pump was just inside the garage, I decided to give the CO2 a try. I thought that it was better to try it now than during a race. Worked great. I never realized the heads of those things get so cold when you are filling up your tire. I guess it makes sense but I just hadn't thought about it before. I got to the race a half hour early, locked up my bike and stretched a bit. While I was doing some warm up jogging, I took my Acel-Gel with some Gatorade. I also did some pickups (strides?) while I was warming up.
Run
  • 23m 25s
  • 3.11 miles
  • 07m 32s  min/mile
Comments: