General Discussion Race Reports! » Gravenhurst Duathlon - Sprint Distance Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

Gravenhurst Duathlon - Sprint Distance - DuathlonOther

View Member's Race Log View other race reports
Gravenhurst, Ontario
Canada
MultiSport Canada Inc.
16C / 61F
Overcast
Total Time = 1h 26m 44s
Overall Rank = 39/71
Age Group = Women 45-49
Age Group Rank = 2/5
Pre-race routine:

Since this is my first time at this race site, I left very early for the 2hr drive and ended up getting there 1.5hr before race time. Had my usual McD coffee and muffin en route.
Event warmup:

Not much, a few strides. I kept my jacket on until 10' before race. Quite chilly, esp when the wind is blowing.
Run
  • 27m 31s
  • 5 kms
  • 05m 30s  min/km
Comments:

I'm now used to these crazy fast duathletes / runners. Had to work hard just so I won't be last. According to the Garmin, the loop is actually longer than 5km, and my pace is actually 8:37. HR smack at Z4, avg 153.
Transition 1
  • 01m 37s
Comments:

Oh, this is bad. I probably ran too fast on the run, trying to keep up with these fast duathletes. I somehow couldn't clip in, lost my balance and almost fell. I stopped, put my feet on the ground, gathered myself and tried again. This time, I clipped in, but swerved, yelling "sorry, sorry" and probably gave other cyclists behind me some uneasy moments.
Bike
  • 42m 26s
  • 20 kms
  • 28.28 km/hr
Comments:

At the very beginning of the course, there were a series of uphill climbs. That and the mounting incident took me out of my rhythm. Not until I hit Muskoka Beach Rd did I start getting comfortable in the aero position, and then I started hammering and passing a lot of people. There were some steep hills that I had to use my smallest gear, but this is the first time I can remember passing people going uphill.
Turned out I have the third fastest bike split (of women). 2nd fastest split beat me by 12", which I probably lost because of the very poor bike mount.