General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Strength training plans for new triathletes Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-09-27 12:57 PM

User image

Expert
St. Paul, MN
Subject: Strength training plans for new triathletes
I've started loosely "coaching" some college art students at one of the small private art colleges where I teach. A few of them did their first sprint triathlon in July, and a few more did their first duathlon this past weekend. I'm SUPER excited for all of them!!

Now that it's nearing the end of Minnesota's multi-sport season, many of them want to start lifting weights. I've been lifting weights for 10 years, but I've been self-taught and just do "normal," basic lifting routine.

MY QUESTION IS THIS: Do any of you know of any good resources for lifting routines for beginner triathletes? A lifting program with a good focus on the core? We're not looking to build a ton of muscle, just develop the "right" muscles. I've looked through this forum, and I didn't find anything super specific to this (although a lot of good pointers for beginners). Any thoughts would be GREATLY appreciated!

Thanks!

2009-09-27 5:40 PM
in reply to: #2428403

Elite
Denver, Colorado
Subject: RE: Strength training plans for new triathletes
If you've searched the strength forum you've probably run into some of my rants about core training. Most so-called core training programs are just a bunch of ab exercises and nothing more. First of all, the core has two sides: the front (abs) and back (lower back muscles and muscles of the hips). Second, the function of the core in athletes is to stabilize the body, not do crunches. A few sets of ab-specific exercises are fine at the end of the workout, and even encouraged, but nothing is better at teaching the body to stabilize itself like training with free weights. Each workout should be nased around the following basic template, picking one exercise from each category: