General Discussion Triathlon Talk » What's your IM bike nutrition/hydration plan? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2010-05-28 10:46 AM

User image

Regular
Subject: What's your IM bike nutrition/hydration plan?
Hi There,

I started this thread over in the main forum, but didn't get a ton of replies, and someone suggested bringing it over here.

Anyway, I'm training for IMLP right now and am tinkering with my bike nutrition.  I'm not entirely new to this, as I've been doing long rides for several years, and did a 1/2 IM a couple of years ago.  Anyway, here's what I currently do:

Clif Bar on the hour
Gel on the half hour
A banana every couple of hours if I'm feeling low
One bottle of fluid every hour, alternating water with Gatorade.

Let's hear what you folks do.

Thanks,

Hart

2010-05-28 1:40 PM
in reply to: #2888575

User image

Champion
Fountain Hills, AZ
Subject: RE: What's your IM bike nutrition/hydration plan?
Well, it's going to be very individual dependent. That sounds like a bit heavy in calories, but if you have tolerated it well in long rides then it will likely work for an IM for YOU, which is all that matters. What I do or anyone else doesn't really apply to you. Remember, IM nurtrition is not a zero sum game. You will calorie deplete, you can't replace what you are using. The trick is to bring in JUST enough to keep you moving forward. In an IM vs. a Half, you don't try and load up on the bike, you can't, you need to consume enought o get you ont he run course and then continue in maintenace mode till the end.
2010-05-28 1:54 PM

User image

Veteran
St. Louis
This will be my 3rd season using Infinit. I take a swig of infinit every 15 minutes and chase it down with water from my aero bottle. Then for the run I live off the course... powergels, water, coke, chicken broth.
2010-06-03 12:05 PM

User image

Master
Columbus, Ohio
Coaching member
My M.O. is finding out what is going to be on the course, and training with that.