General Discussion Triathlon Talk » IRONMAN TRAINING Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2010-07-06 10:41 AM

New user

Subject: IRONMAN TRAINING

I am considering going for the full Ironman next May in The Woodlands, TX.  I am a beginner triathlete and have finished one sprint tri this past May.  I have qualifed for the Boston Marathon next year and am concerned about doing Boston, the third week in April, so close to the Ironman, which is the third week of May.  Will 4 weeks be enough time for me to recover and taper for the IM>  Tks!  Jerry Flanagan

2010-07-06 10:52 AM
in reply to: #2963294

User image

Elite
Fishers, Indiana
Subject: RE: IRONMAN TRAINING
Flanagan01 - 2010-07-06 10:41 AM

I am considering going for the full Ironman next May in The Woodlands, TX.  I am a beginner triathlete and have finished one sprint tri this past May.  I have qualifed for the Boston Marathon next year and am concerned about doing Boston, the third week in April, so close to the Ironman, which is the third week of May.  Will 4 weeks be enough time for me to recover and taper for the IM>  Tks!  Jerry Flanagan

Welcome to BT Jerry!  You've posed a good question, and to be perfectly honest, I would say no, don't do it.  If you had several IMs under your belt and were willing to risk it out that way, it'd be one thing, but with your triathlon background being minimal right now, and this being your 1st IM, I wouldn't risk what a marathon could do to the body when you have an IM pending just 4-weeks post race.  I have done one IM and multiple other tri's of varying distances, and I too have qualified for Boston for next year and am racing IM Coeur d' Alene in late June '11.  I would like to run Boston, but I want IMCdA more---so I'm going to hold off on Boston. I know I can qualify again and get there later.  IM is my A race, so I want to make sure my schedule supports that.