General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Triathlon Nutrition for a newbie Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2010-07-27 4:53 PM

Subject: Triathlon Nutrition for a newbie
I am brand new to triathlons and have done mostly bodybuilding in the past, which is a completely different type of nutrition. Could someone give me some general guidelines for diet plans while training.  I can't really seem to find real direction on the topic.

Thanks in advance

2010-07-28 10:18 AM
in reply to: #3008409

User image

Master
Peoria, AZ (Near Lake Pleasant)
Subject: RE: Triathlon Nutrition for a newbie

Nutrition is a very unique portion of training for everyone because no two athletes are ever the same and we all operate at a different cadence in bike/run legs.  I will provide a few tips that I have seen often and have experienced myself.

1. Do a sweat test.  Weigh yourself and then run for one hour and re-weigh in.  This will tell you approximately how much fluid you lose per hour.  All athletes should do this periodically, just as your heart rate will change with a good routine, so will fluid retention.

2. Do a salt test.  Wear black on a sunny and warm day (not a humid 110* phoenix day!) and run for an hour.  how much white powder is on that jersey?  This is salt loss.

3. Pick a race distance to train for.  Nutrition is not much of a factor in a sprint as you are typically done inside a couple of hours - nutrition can make or break your Ironman race and be the difference between a Personal Best (PR) and a Do Not Finish (DNF).  So sense seeing a medic on such a happy day just for a free IV!

After doing the above three, you have some personal information to start with.  Now, carry and re-fill water and drink, drink, drink on rides and runs.  Try to drink something about every 10 -20 minutes to replace what fluids at about the rate you lose them according to your sweat test.