General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Power Meter benefits for new triathlete Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2010-08-02 3:12 PM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Sykesville
Subject: Power Meter benefits for new triathlete
I'm relatively new to this sport having only completed one race so far and have only had my bike for a year.  However, I'm considering getting a power meter.  I've read various threads on here and other sites and am finishing up "Training and Racing with a Power Meter" by Allen & Cogen.  I realize many people are very successful without them, but power meters seem like they can be very powerful (no pun intended) tools.  

My short/medium term goals are to stay within the olympic range for the next couple of years but I would like to keep pushing myself.  Given my level of experience (or lack thereof) would there bea  benefit to getting power meter now or waiting until later?  Are there any down sides to getting one earlier? Would the money be better spent on something else (ie working with a coach)?

Thanks,

2010-08-02 3:16 PM
in reply to: #3019116

Subject: RE: Power Meter benefits for new triathlete
why wait? if u buy it now u get to use it now.
so more use out of it.
if u know how to use it its a great investment 
2010-08-02 3:19 PM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Wahiawa, Hawaii.... but now in Florence, KY..
i just picket up a powertap last week and am reading training and racing with power meters.  So far, i don't know what to do with it...
2010-08-02 3:31 PM

User image

I think it depends on the person.

If you are very self motivated, I think a power meter is an awesome investment.  It tells you exactly how hard you are working...but you need to motivate yourself to push those limits with your workouts.