General Discussion Triathlon Talk » FIRST POST, FIRST TRIATHLON... Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2005-07-16 8:53 PM

neptune beach, florida
Subject: FIRST POST, FIRST TRIATHLON...
Hola,

I'm a newbie to y'all and to the world of triathlons... I have to say, I'm impressed with this website, and I love training for my first Tri that I am running next Sunday July, 24. The Tri is an X-terra race with a half mile ocean swim, 13 mile mountain bike ride and a 5K trail run. Since I've started training a short eight weeks ago I have lost 15 lbs, my blood pressure has steadily dropped and my resting heart rate is in the mid forties. In addition to a pretty aggressive training schedule I tweaked my diet to maximize production. All of the information about Tris, training, diet, mind-set, etc. I learned by reading this website and through these forums. I am grateful for the information. Is there anything that y'all think might help me this last week up to race day? Monday I plan to run a 3/4 Tri to see where I'm at. Is that too close to the big day? Booze is done with after tonight, and water and sleep will be my main focus from tomorrow to Sunday... I am so stoked, so nervous and hopefully ready...

I appreciate y'all, any help that you can give me, and the people that made this site...

Jamie Temple

2005-07-16 9:15 PM
in reply to: #200117

User image

St. Louis, MO
Subject: RE: FIRST POST, FIRST TRIATHLON...

Welcome Jaime!  Glad the site has been good to you.  It really is great.

This week, eat pretty normally for you (no need to drastic pre-race change it diet), rest, drink water and spend some time thinking about your transitions (what stressed me out most).  I found it really helpful to make a list of what I'd need for transitions and put in in the bag I was packing.  I could revisit the bag and list a few times to ease my nerves.