Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 5

2013-01-25 4:51 PM
in reply to: #3052872

User image

Veteran
Baltimore Area
Subject: RE: Beginner Cycling Program Group
Just checking in to see how it is going. tomorrow is my swim day but if we get snowed in, I will spin at home.

Edited by Lovey 2013-01-25 4:51 PM

2013-01-27 11:18 PM

New user

Hi guys.

Newbie here, looking forward to starting this program tomorrow. I used to be in the U.S. Army and back in 2004 I ran a couple of 10k's in less than an hour. Nothing great, but for someone who was overweight and even obese for most of his childhood and didn't really start running until 6 months prior, I was just happy I finished. Now fast-forward 8+ years and 110 additional lbs later and I've decided to try and get back into shape - by starting to train for a triathlon!!! But before anyone freaks out, don't worry. I won't by entering my self into a tri anytime soon.

My goal is quite simple: git back into shape by training for a specific purpose. I have a couple of reasons for doing it this way. 1) I have found that setting weight-loss as my specific goal in general leads me to get upset and discouraged  when I can't tell the difference in the mirror from week to week or when the number on the scale doesn't match my expectations. Instead, I want to try making the workouts and the training gains my measure of success and just know that I'm getting healthier, and not worry about how quickly the weight is coming off. 2) I can't think of any better way to build the body that I've always wanted than to build it with performance, and not just appearance, in mind.