General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Heart Rate Training Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2010-08-19 7:59 PM

Subject: Heart Rate Training

I am new to hear rate training. 37 years old.  I just signed up for HIM Ca. In my research I have read all about aerobic, anaerobic, all the zones etc... My question is. In order for me to get faster, do I have to run slower to keep my heart rate down? When I run 6 miles, my heart rate averages 153 which is about 85 %, I know I need to be about 143 about 75%.

How should I begin my HIM training? Should I continue at my 9.30- 10min pace or start over going up to about a 12 min pace to keep my heart rate lower? And if I do so, Is six months enough to have me runing at about 9 min pace with a low heart rate?

Thanks
Raul

2010-08-19 8:34 PM
in reply to: #3053804

User image

Champion
Fountain Hills, AZ
Subject: RE: Heart Rate Training
As an athlete who does train with HR my best advice is get your LT/VO2 tested to establish your HR zones and then choose a training program that uses that same protocol.
2010-08-20 9:01 AM

Regular
Babylon
Heart race is a good way to train and when your are in an IM, your main objective is to keep aerobic in zone 2 with flirting with zone 3.

You really need to get some training in first that then run a TT to determine your LT.  Then set your zones from training.  IM is all about building your strong base before putting in the speed work. 
2010-08-22 8:38 AM

User image

Veteran
Perth