United States
75F / 24C
Sunny
Total Time = 50m 11s
Overall Rank = /
Age Group = M 40-49
Age Group Rank = 3/20?
Pre-race routine:

This was a tune-up event for the Baltimore Half-Marathon in three weeks. Wanted to run a strong 10K with a negative split.

Woke up at 5:30 a.m., ate half a zone bar and drank some coffee. Did some chores around the house. Left for 5 minute ride to race site at 7:15 a.m. Signed up at the site; no line and very organized.
Event warmup:

Talked with some friends for a bit and then pre-race warm up. While running down to the track, I rolled my right ankle pretty good. After yelling %#$# and limping down to the track I decided to see what the ankle could take (I am a veteran of injured ankles from years of volleyball, basketball, soccer, and um, some "drinking injuries". I was able to run with just a slight favor of the ankle and it seemed to get a little better as I got loose. Ran about a mile total and stretched, plus drank my sport drink concoction (Orange Juice, water, and Accelerade mixture).
Run
  • 50m 11s
  • 6.21 miles
  • 08m 05s  min/mile
Comments:

The beginning of the run was a little frustrating due to congestion, but once I got out of the pack spacing was fine. Just enough runners to keep in sight but nobody tripping over each other. This was my first time running this course so I took it a little slow the first mile.

After the 1.5 miles, mostly uphill, I opened it up a bit. Hit the first loop (where the 5K finishers were going...I REALLY wanted to just stop at that point) at 25:10, a little slower than I was hoping for but it's a hilly course and it was warm.