General Discussion Triathlon Talk » New Sprint Triathlon/Kids Triathlon Suggestions Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2010-09-27 8:58 PM

User image

Regular
Salem
Subject: New Sprint Triathlon/Kids Triathlon Suggestions

I have somehow become a race director for a sprint triathlon next summer.  The tri will benefit the local swim team.  I am requesting all of your likes/dislikes regarding triathlons that you have participated in. In other words, if you will definitely return to a race, why?

I am open to any additional suggestions you may have.

Thanks in advance for taking the time to respond.

2010-09-29 9:17 AM
in reply to: #3120765

User image

Veteran
Just South of Disorder
Subject: RE: New Sprint Triathlon/Kids Triathlon Suggestions
I am a newbie with only 4 sprint tri's under my belt. But i will gladly give you my thougths.

First off I think a kids tri would be fantastic. My three kids did one this past June and they loved it. But if you do it you need all the bells an whistles that the sprint tri has. Bibs; timing chip; transition area with bike racks. finish line etc. Please don't just have the kids run two laps around the parking lot. I have seen that many times and its just crap IMO.

Now what I liked about my tri's was

1. Good Organization
2. Having enough volunteers to help with check in; marking and general questions.
3. A good marked layout of the race. Many will be doing it for the first time and good signs with direction arrows goes a long way.
4. A good overall race layout. Make sure the swim; bike and run routes are  good. Not all uphill or downhill.
5. Nice goody bags and prizes for the group winners.
6. Good food and drink at the end of the race.
7. Quick posting of the results after the race.

That's all I have for now. Good Luck and perhaps you can contact another race director and get their input.
2010-09-29 9:27 AM