General Discussion Triathlon Talk » wanting to get a new bike but have no idea where to start please help Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2010-10-17 6:56 PM

New user

Subject: wanting to get a new bike but have no idea where to start please help
Currently I have a Trek 1.1 with aero bars and put in a aggressive position. I just got a computer to see my cadence and see how fast I was going. wanting to get a TT bike.
http://www.trekbikes.com/us/en/bikes/2010/archive/11

I'm very new to road bikes, and need help. I'm at 6k elevation and the route I do there are 4 decent sized hills and on a windy day i push 20.5mph(cadence 100-114) on average non windy day i can go 21.5 in a 20k. on the flat road with no wind i average 26-29mph(Cad.100-114). but my main question i have is what bike to get that will give me numbers of 24-27mph I know the engine is the most important and I'm on a 28 week training program to get better and will train with the 1.1 until i get a new bike. I'm looking to spend a maximum of 3,500$ do i get a top end aluminum bike with amazing parts or do i go with carbon. as i said earlier with the biking aspect I'm not familar with at all.
Thanks for taking the time to read my post and my numbers arent ment for bragging or to show anything just to give you a picture of my fitness level atm, i dont even know waht good mph is nor good cadence. all I know is the guy at the santa cruz tri last year avg. 27mph and also I will be back at sea level in two weeks. thanks again and hope to hear from anyone that has advice.

2010-10-17 7:55 PM
in reply to: #3156871

User image

New user
Subject: RE: wanting to get a new bike but have no idea where to start please help