General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Squeaky rear brake Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2005-08-04 8:54 PM

User image

Veteran
Minneapolis, MN
Subject: Squeaky rear brake
I'm still learning the basics of bike maintenance, so I wanted to know the solution for a sqeaky rear brake. Today during my ride, everytime I braked hard the rear brake let out a high pitched squeak. Where is the best place to lube to avoid this? Also, I fully washed my bike this week, so that may have something to do with it. Thanks,

Derek

2005-08-04 9:11 PM
in reply to: #216996

User image

Resident Curmudgeon
The Road Back
Gold member
Subject: RE: Squeaky rear brake

Don't lube your brake pads, lubing reduces friction and friction is what makes brakes make you stop.

The squeal could be from your brakes toeing out so tha the heel of the pad is doning all the work. You need to toe the brakes in a little so that the whole pad hits square on the rim.

If you're starting to learn maintenance, get Zinn and the Art of Road Bike Maintenance. Excellent reference book.

2005-08-04 9:17 PM

User image

Extreme Veteran

Edit....looks like Bear and I posted at the same time...ditto what he said.  My original post follows:

Sounds like a brake shoe "toe-in" issue but could also just be residue on pads and rim. Lube won't help you out and if you are describing it correctly would actually be disasterous.

I would first make sure there isn't any obvious residue on the rim's braking surface or on the pads themselves.  Next thing is that when your brake shoes contact the rims the front or forward tips of the pads should touch the rim before the back portion.  Adjusting the brake pads at this slight angle (toe-in) prevents them from vibrating when applied and causing the high pitched squeal.  It really is hard to explain without pictures as far as just how much difference there should be but it is not much.