General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Custom Workout Plan and multiple workouts per day Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2011-02-24 12:53 PM

User image

Veteran
Far South Burbs of Chicago
Subject: Custom Workout Plan and multiple workouts per day
I hope this doesn't sound stupid but I am new to using a workout program and to Tri's. I created a custom workout that is a 16 week 3x run focused. I have been doing the daily scheduled workouts back to back each day. Isn't that basically doing a brick each day that I have double events (swim\bike, swim\run, bike run) scheduled? Am I supposed to be doing it that way or am I supposed to do 1 workout in the am and the other in the pm? If I continue doing it the way I am is there any downside to it?

Here's an example.

Monday I swam 600yards and ran .7miles (if I remember the distances right). I did them back to back with enough time to dry off and get changed.

Tuesday: Bike 8 miles and ran .7 miles (strength for 25min before hand). No break in between.

Web: Swam 850 yards and biked 8.3 miles (drove home from the pool and then biked...15-30 minute break maybe)

This was my first week of the progam so far.

2011-02-24 1:21 PM
in reply to: #3370779

User image

Subject: RE: Custom Workout Plan and multiple workouts per day
Yesterday I did
Swim 5:00 AM and Run 3:00 PM
This morning
Run 3:30 AM and Bike 3:00 PM

If I swim, it's in the morning. If I bike it's after the sun comes up so it's afternoon during the week.
I'll run in the dark so either is fine.

I always try to do SOMETHING before work to get the blood going for the day.

If you want to do them as bricks, go for it. That'll get you used to doing one after the other. BUT you won't get as good a run workout if you always do it after a bike.
2011-02-24 1:29 PM

User image

Veteran
Bedford, NH