General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Barefoot or minimalist running Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2011-04-25 2:12 PM

User image

Expert
Oklahoma
Subject: Barefoot or minimalist running

I'm trying to figure out if devoting a run a week to barefoot or minimalist running would be beneficial to me.

A little history I'm new to tri's.  I'm a runner and due to injuries I've started cycling and swimming to keep me in shape.  Although I really started enjoying the other sports so I thought I would give triathlon's a shot this summer.  Before my last injury I ran 5 days a week and avg about 50mpw.  A little over a year ago I was sidelined for a short time with PTT and during this time I was put in some very ridged orthotics by my PT.  Things were going well and then I was hit with chronic anterior tib tendonitis this Jan.  I've pretty much been sidelined since Jan.  I was cleared by the doctor to start running last week.  I'm starting off slow and only running 3 times a week.  I have ditched the ridged orthotics and replaced them with some green Superfeet.  So far the Superfeet seem to help with the ATT.  So here is some of my questions:

1. Has anybody had similar injuries and turned to barefoot or minimalist running. What were your results. 

2. If I started devoting 1 day to minimalist and run with my regular shoes the other 3 days would it be wise to keep my superfeet in my running shoes?

3. How do you start? I was told by my doctor if I did go this route to take it very slow.

Thanks for any help!

2011-04-25 2:30 PM
in reply to: #3464904

New user
Subject: RE: Barefoot or minimalist running

I tore up my knee playing soccer.  I've been put back together, but without a medial meniscus in my right knee.  For a long time after that injury/surgery, I couldn't run at all without discomfort that would last for days.  I couldn't lift at all (even on equipment/machines).