General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Anyone ever have an amazing training breakthrough? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2005-08-31 12:18 PM

User image

Veteran
Subject: Anyone ever have an amazing training breakthrough?
Here is my story: I started training for a May sprint tri in April, barely survived but finished it, then immediately began training for an 8/27 race. I was mostly trying to get to the point where I felt confident that I could finish all the distances at a reasonable pace, so I never did any base training or anything like that. I started by running 1/4 mile, swimming 200 yards and biking about 3 miles. Up to and including the race this past weekend, I had never swam more than 600 yards at a stretch, and then I was huffing and puffing. In the race I finished the .3 mile swim in 11:59 and was very much out of breath. My training plan was to focus on running for a while after the race, since my running needed the most improvement, and I was going to do LSD only for a couple of weeks. So for two days I ran twice a day, 5-6 miles in the morning, 2-3 in the afternoon. So today my legs just didn't feel like they could do it and I went to the pool to swim. I swam 1500 yards in 29:41 and only stopped because I wanted to go tell my triathlete girlfriend about it before she went to work. I felt like I could have swam all day and I wasn't winded in the slightest.

My girlfriend says it was the running, but two days??? I don't think so. I was running before, just not as much. Anyone else have a similar experience? Any ideas about how this happened? I sure would like to re-create it running.

2005-08-31 12:55 PM
in reply to: #238175

Master
Brooklyn, NY
Subject: RE: Anyone ever have an amazing training breakthrough?
I've had a few of those and they sure feel good.