General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Need advice for a rubbing wheel Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2011-07-28 9:23 AM

User image

SWOH
Subject: Need advice for a rubbing wheel

My first tri is Saturday. I don't have money for a new wheel or to fix my existing one, which is warped and rubbing the brake severely enough that the wheel stops after two or three rotations from a spin while up on jacks. I tried to ride it yesterday and it was hard as hell on my legs, extremely frustrating, etc.

I'm an ultra beginner here and I don't know what I should be doing. This is my rear wheel. I see these as my options.

1. Loosen the brake so that the wheel doesn't rub. I can't find a sweet spot where the brake still gets a good grip and the wheel spins freely, though. If the wheel can spin, it's because I've adjusted the brake so much that it barely brakes. The front brake still works fine, but it doesn't seem safe to ride with only a front brake -- is it?

2. Ride as normal with the wheel rubbing and just deal with the terrible fatigue on my legs, and walk most of the run. I did this in a brick yesterday and it was VERY hard, and i still couldn't go very fast (wasn't picking up speed on downhills, unable to coast, etc.)

3. Ride in a very easy gear with the wheel rubbing, going very slow on the bike, and save some legs/lungs for the run. This may be my only option, but it's incredibly frustrating to sit there and spin my wheels (literally).

Any other ideas? Which is best?

This is why I wish I wasn't a triathlete of limited means. Lesson learned...

2011-07-28 9:26 AM
in reply to: #3618562

User image

Elite
Romeoville, Il
Subject: RE: Need advice for a rubbing wheel
Did you check with your LBS? It really shouldn't cost very much to true the wheel. I've had my shop do it for free. I can't imagine they'd charge more than $40 or less
2011-07-28 9:28 AM
in reply to: #3618568

User image

Slower Than You
Cracklantaburbs