General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Can Speedplays cause toe numbness?! Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2011-08-03 10:33 PM

New user

Denver
Subject: Can Speedplays cause toe numbness?!

I have been doing tris for 4 years. In late 2010, I developed a morton's neuroma in my left foot that incapacitated me for about 6 months. A lot of alcohol injections later, and I was able to compete late last year and am getting ready for my first 70.3 this coming Sunday. Before this year, I was on MTBs (Specialized sz 41) with absolutely no foot problems. I event got custom, from the podiatrist, orthotics last year, and my regular "dress shoes" pair fit in my MTBs perfectly.

This year, I wanted to finally get road shoes. I bought Specialized Pros, size 42, as the 41s seemed a bit too tight. I soon developed toe numbness in my left foot - not every now and then, but constant, numbness to where I couldn't feel the front part of my foot. I could tell my neuroma was being irritated, as it began to bother me in the run. My first sprint this year, I couldn't feel my foot for the first mile. Scary stuff, b/c I didn't want my neuroma to flare up and I have since felt it getting close. So, since then I have tried a variety of things:

• Had bike fittings/multiple cleat adjustments at two different LBS'
  • Had a Retul fitting, with multiple cleat adjustments
  • Tried two additional styles of another brand of shoes, as I was told the Specialized Pros sz 42 are too big (I have tried Giro Factors, which seem overall better, and another Giro style, which were too narrow and also caused my little toe to be pinched)
  • Tried various types of insoles, gel inserts, and my orthotics
  • All of the above in some combination (shoes, inserts, etc.)

And - my left foot still goes numb. Somewhere between mile 7 and 10. Big left toe on the inside, then moves to some of the other toes.