5150 Triathlon Series
60F / 16C
Sunny
Total Time = 2h 35m 27s
Overall Rank = 164/992
Age Group = 35-39
Age Group Rank = 29/99
Pre-race routine:

A little background... I started training for Triathlon a little over a year ago and lost 45 lbs. because I was inspired by my best friend Scott. I've done one other Olympic and two Sprint Tri's since then, but this was my first opportunity to go head to head against Scott. We've both been training hard for this race and neither one of us wanted to lose to the other.

As for the race holy cow is all I can say. When I got to transition the day before to drop off my bike I got the first glimpse of just how big this event is. It was a surreal thing for me just to see the blue barriers lining the bike course leading up to transition. Also, the pure size of the transition area was intimidating to me as well. How the heck am I going to find my bike in here was all I could think. lol

I did manage to get some sleep the night before and woke up at 4:30am and ate a banana and drank a Naked Mango Fruit Smoothie.
Got to transition on time and got everything laid out for the race. It was pretty cold around 55 degrees and our wave didn't go off until around 7:45 so I got a little chilly in just my Tri suit. I did go down to the water after a while and waded in to warm up. The 75 degree water was a lot warmer than the air. :)
Event warmup:

I was still nursing a sore left calf from a really bad cramp I got on my Sprint Tri last weekend, so I stretched out real good before the race. Other than that I didn't do anything.
Swim
  • 32m 25s
  • 1640 yards
  • 01m 59s / 100 yards
Comments: