General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Swim Advice: Help wanted. Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2005-10-29 8:41 AM

User image

Elite
Subject: Swim Advice: Help wanted.

I need a little advice from you strong swimmers.  I recently started working with a swim coach for the first time. I have a no background in swimming and I’m working this winter on improving my swim.  My goal is a full IM in the fall of 06. I’ve open water swam many times and I’m comfortable. Pool swimming is a little less comfortable. I can swim without a nose plug, but have trained the past year with one and have used a nose plug in every triathlon I’ve competed in this year. I’m a self-taught swimmer, never had a lesson until now. Here are my questions:

1) My swim coach evaluated my stroke and said that I don’t kick or use my legs much. I’m aware of this because I’ve tried using a kick board and I either stall out of start going backwards. I know that in longer triathlons I won’t be kicking much because I want to save my legs. I’ve used this reasoning to neglect my kick. I don’t think my swim coach has a history in Triathlon because she decided that the #1 thing I need to work on is my leg kick, not my stroke or breathing. I don’t want to spend all of my time or $$$ learning how to kick if its not priority. Question: How important overall is my kick?

2) Nose plug: I know its something I need to learn to do without. I can swim without one, but it makes me more relaxed in the water when I’m wearing one. My coach said that I need to stop using a nose plug, I agree. She then said that you never use your nose during swimming, you never breathe in or out of your nose. So why not use a plug if this is the case?