General Discussion Triathlon Talk » What distance to start with Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2006-01-24 8:59 PM

Veteran
columbia, md
Subject: What distance to start with
Now I am sure this has been discussed before but I could not find it.

I am new to Tri’s from a marathon running. Should I go for a Sprint first or dive into an Oly distance? I am sure this depends on training and level of fitness so here is some background info, currently running between 20 – 25 M a week but looking to drop this to 3 runs, 2 swims and 2 rides. I would look at my first race being on Apr 22nd.

I suppose the Sprint would let me see and experience the whole race in action and prep me for the Oly but this first race is 1 ½ hours drive from home and I really want to get the most out of the season.

What do you think? Thanks

2006-01-24 9:10 PM
in reply to: #331095

User image

Veteran
Vero Beach,Florida
Subject: RE: What distance to start with
I say, drive out and do the sprint. You will LOVE IT. 90 minutes is not that far to drive. Believe me.
Or you could go the night before and get a room to keep from getting up so early the day of.

My first one I got up early and drove 2 hours with friends. It was great. By the time we got there I was awake and hyped up for the event. It was a BLAST.

Yes, definately drive to the sprint. Great memories.

Snookdude
2006-01-24 9:21 PM

Subject: ...
This user's post has been ignored.
2006-01-25 8:45 AM

Pro
Pittsburgh, my heart is in Glasgow
While I know a guy who did Ironman FL as his FIRST tri, I don't suggest it. Sprints are a great way to feel out the sport, and work out the more "logistic" things. The more comfortable you get with the transitions, the mass starts, the chaos, the exhaustion, the better prepared you'll be for larger, longer events.

Happy tri!
2006-01-25 8:57 AM
in reply to: #331312

Resident Curmudgeon
The Road Back
Gold member