General Discussion Triathlon Talk » my first sprint tri -- am I crazy? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-05-06 4:44 PM

User image

Champion
Beautiful Sonoma County
Subject: my first sprint tri -- am I crazy?
OK, I'm super new to this.

Running - I've been running fairly regularly for over a year now. I do on 10k race a month. I'm confident in my running ability.

Swimming - I'm slow. I can do a half mile swim in 30 minutes, but I can do it without getting winded or without needing tons of breaks.

Biking - I'm pretty new to it. I went for a short ride yesterday of 12 miles and it took me about an hour, but I went slow knowing it was only a training ride and not something to get completely out of breath with.

So my question is this: Am I crazy for considering doing a sprint tri in June? I feel comfortable with the individual distances and don't come off any of them feeling poorly. Am I overestimating my ability to do all three at one time?

My goal for the June race would be just to see whether I can do it. I don't have any aspirations of being fast. I won't have a specific time goal set. I just want to prove to myself I can do it.

Am I crazy?

2004-05-06 4:49 PM
in reply to: #23361

Extreme Veteran
Subject: RE: my first sprint tri -- am I crazy?
Sounds to me like you will be just fine, good luck on your race!
2004-05-06 6:07 PM

Australia
You'll cruise it - just don't overexert your legs on the swim, save them for the bike and the run and you'll be amazed at how easy you'll find it!! Go for it!!
2004-05-06 6:30 PM

User image

Champion
Beautiful Sonoma County
Thanks for the encouragement!