General Discussion Triathlon Talk » foot injury - how long to rebuild running base Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2006-02-22 7:49 AM

New user

Durham, NC
Subject: foot injury - how long to rebuild running base
i am new to all of this. had a decent running base for 5Ks but was not a super runner or anything. last summer started increasing my distance. did it too fast i think. went to 10K distance pretty quickly. due to so much cross training i was cardiovascularly ready but i don't think the muscles in my legs were ready. started getting shin splits and other mild annoying discomforts. ignored it and kept running. got worse. ignored it kept running. serves me right for ignoring it. i ended up with a stress fracture in my right foot. i think the biomechanics of my run gait were altered by the muscular discomfort. so i was finally willing to stop running. didn't run from jan 5 until yesterday (february 21). did other things so as not to lose all cardiovascular fitness (eg. swimming, elliptical). yesterday i walked 5 minutes then ran 10 walked 10 ran 10 walked 10. no pain during or after. i am SOOOO EXCITED that i can finally start running again. my question is, how slowly should i build back up to my 10K base? i really didn't have a base at 10K so i should say how long to build back up to 5K and how long should i run at 5K before i start increasing and how long should the increase take to get up to 10K?

thanks!

2006-02-22 2:40 PM
in reply to: #351745

User image

Expert
Medina, MN
Subject: RE: foot injury - how long to rebuild running base