General Discussion Triathlon Talk » First timer...need some help, please! Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2006-03-29 6:32 PM

User image

Subject: First timer...need some help, please!
Hi! I am new to the sport and have a couple of questions. I have been running for years and just got my bike in October. I am now training for a triathalon in June and I need some tips on how to improve my bike time. I did a 200 mile ride in Jan. but it was casual, so I know the 12 miles will not be a problem for me, I just need to get faster and get some power. I have only been able to maintain a speed of 18mph for about 3 miles, and then my speed is all over the place, never getting above 20mph. Any hints would be great, I appreciate your time and thank you for your help!

2006-03-29 7:48 PM
in reply to: #383013

User image

Expert
Herndon VA
Subject: RE: First timer...need some help, please!

I'm sure that you'll soon be told "Ride Lots" or "Time in the Saddle".  Both of which are true but what you need to do is build a solid base and then start adding in tempo rides/hills/interval training.  Biking is my worst part of the tri and I'm at the same point as you.  If I remember correctly, Bear suggest you build up to 100 miles a week/400 miles a month before working on speed.  So, that's my goal for the year, consistently average 400 miles a month or more and to start working in other types of workouts.

I also recommend downloading a training plan and follow the plan.  If you have the money, get a gold membership and use Mike Ricci's services.

Ernie 

2006-03-29 8:33 PM
in reply to: #383013

User image

Regular
Grand Prairie, Texas
Subject: RE: First timer...need some help, please!
The bike is probably my strongest point. Most folks have an average ride MPH between 17 and 18 MPH. If you can do the distance, to increase the speed/power, work on a series of workouts: