General Discussion Triathlon Talk » 2012 Triathlons Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2012-01-07 5:56 PM

Subject: 2012 Triathlons

Hello all,

I am very new to the triathlon scene, but I have been a competitive swimmer all my life.  I am 25 and set my sights very high this year and have already signed up for the Branson Half-Iron man in September. 

Any suggestions on the number of races that I should do between now and then to prepare?  I am also thinking about signing up for the Kansas City 5i50 triathlon in May as a good gauging point.  This gives me close to 20 weeks to prepare for both races.

I also need a good road bike so any suggestions there would be great as well..I have just been training on a stationary bike right now.

This weather is making running so enjoyable!!!!

2012-01-07 8:07 PM
in reply to: #3977176

User image

Veteran
Missouri
Subject: RE: 2012 Triathlons
What area are you from ? I'm also doing those two races.

Since you've already got the swimming portion down you'll just have to adjust to swimming with other people next to you in open water. Try to swim nice and easy so that you're not exhausted by the time you do the bike and run.

Try and do two workouts a day if you can. During the week try and do your run then swim for 1/2 hour or swim then run or bike/swim, etc. whatever combination you feel like doing and throw in a long swim, bike or run every now and then.

Start cycling...a lot. So you can get used to biking for 2 hours. Start slow, 30mins, 60mins, 90mins, etc. get your legs used to working for 2hrs+ then run the next day so your legs get used to running when they're tired.

As far as bikes, start on a road bike, get a good fit, see how you like it and go from there. There are tons of different bikes out there to start out on, it just depends on your budget.

Good luck. Stay hydrated and be safe.
2012-01-07 8:43 PM