General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Tri suit or not tri suit? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2012-01-09 2:14 AM

User image

Regular
Subject: Tri suit or not tri suit?

I have very little to no experience of triathlon, accept a few sprints. This is my year, I am puzzled.

Ironman for example.

Do tri suits have padding suitable for a 112 mile ride and can you run a marathon with that padding, Do tri suits not! have padding but the bike seat is extremely soft, ie Gel.

2012-01-09 2:27 AM
in reply to: #3979045

User image

Subject: RE: Tri suit or not tri suit?
Tri suits and tri shorts have padding. It's just a whole lot less padding than the diaper in bike shorts. You can run in them and you basically won't notice them. Funny thing is I chafe less in tri shorts than I do with regular runner's spandex.

I've been doing century rides and a couple IMs in the past 5 years and still ride on the stock Felt saddle that came with the bike and wear tri shorts for all my rides, including century rides.

About two weeks ago I bought a set of DeSoto 400 mile bib shorts because I'm doing a double century this year and figured this might be a good time to actually use bike shorts. Turns out the bib part of the bib shorts is nice but there is just about too much padding for me so I've decided to only wear them for rides over 100 miles. Tri shorts all the way below that.

2012-01-09 3:19 AM
in reply to: #3979046

User image

Regular

Great, thanks, it's just a case of getting a harder backside then really.

I take it the tri suit padding causes no problem under a wet suit.

2012-01-09 3:38 AM
in reply to: #3979059

User image

Maxwelltri - 2012-01-09 4:19 AM

Great, thanks, it's just a case of getting a harder backside then really.

I take it the tri suit padding causes no problem under a wet suit.

After about the second or third kick you won't notice it.

The wetsuit is more noticeable in the undercarriage than the tri shorts are.