General Discussion Triathlon Talk » any smart doctor types in here? heart question Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2012-01-14 5:27 PM

User image

Veteran
Subject: any smart doctor types in here? heart question
A close friend of mine sent me this message... I'm paraphrasing. " I've been told I have a congenital heart defect that has caused my aorta to dilate . . . Translation: I have an aortic aneurysm & I have to have open heart surgery". Shortly before surgery, his aorta ruptured... How bad is this? Scary because he's super fit, eats right, probably the healthiest person I know. I know its not too "tri specific" but I've seen some knowledgeable posts from some clearly educated people on this site... Just hoping someone can help me wrap my head around this. Thanks so much.

2012-01-14 6:00 PM
in reply to: #3990550

User image

Expert
Ontario
Subject: RE: any smart doctor types in here? heart question
I'm not a doctor but work on a vascular surgery floor. If your friend lived through the rupture and had the aneurysm repaired then it is should be no worse than if he'd had the surgery as scheduled. The problem with ruptured aortic aneurysms is that usually people don't even know it was there and are not able to get surgery in time to save them. This happened to my daughter in laws mother a couple years ago and by the time she go to hospital it was too late.
2012-01-14 7:41 PM

User image

Champion
New York, NY
agree with the above response (I am a doctor).  If he survived the rupture he will be fine.
2012-01-14 9:04 PM

User image

Elite