General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Wanting to relocate to NC Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2012-01-15 11:48 AM

User image

Veteran
Subject: Wanting to relocate to NC
My family (parents when they were growing up) is originally from NC and I also went to college (UNCG) there, we also make it down to Oak Island a couple times a year. Have always lived in Northern VA but now that the daughter is graduating college in May we are starting to knock around the idea of relocating. we are looking for a less crowded, less hectic area than the suburbs of Washington DC. I work as a project manager in telecommunications and my wife is an executive admin with a large defense contractor. We would like the area to be tri friendly (safe roads to bike and run and hopefully some open water swimming options) and maybe a tri club. Any suggestions of areas in NC that could fit our requirements?Thanks

Edited by gti123 2012-01-15 11:52 AM

2012-01-15 12:19 PM
in reply to: #3991307

User image

Elite
N Carolina
Subject: RE: Wanting to relocate to NC
I would say at least check out Moore County, NC.  We have the Pinehurst/Southern Pines/Aberdeen area.  It is near Fayetteville/Ft Bragg.  Lots of military folk choose to live here instead of Fayetteville.  Only 100,000 people (approx.) in the entire county.  Pinehurst is the largest town with 12,000 residents.  Great cycling community and open water options at Pinehurst marina, Seven Lakes community and Whispering Pines community.  The Sandhills Cycling Club is located here and we have the Sandhills Sandspurs Triathlon Club based out of the FirstHealth Center for Health and Fitness.
2012-01-16 7:24 AM

User image

NC