General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Need cold/rain cycling advice Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2006-05-12 11:57 AM

User image

Crystal Lake, IL
Subject: Need cold/rain cycling advice

I know about cornering and braking in wet conditions.  My question is about clothing. 

I spent all winter running outside and know how to dress for rain and snow and cold.  I'm still learning on the bike.  Last weekend I learned A LOT about dressing for cold (38 degrees) on the bike but what about rain?  Getting rained on doesn't bother me at all running, I actually like it cuz it keeps me cool.  Should I make a little more effort to stay dry on the bike or will I just be setting myself up to overheat if I wear a poncho or rain jacket?  It's supposed to be in the high thirties again when I ride at 5am tomorrow and I'm planning on around 20-30 miles, which is long for me.

2006-05-12 12:05 PM
in reply to: #422059

User image

Expert
Toronto
Subject: RE: Need cold/rain cycling advice
Here's a great thread on another message board that has some fantastic ideas of what to wear on rainy days...

http://www.bikerally.org/cgi-bin/yabb/YaBB.pl?board=cycling;action=...
2006-05-12 12:06 PM

User image

SF Bay Area, Mountain View
a poncho is a very bad idea - especially when it's windy. it's ok for commuting in a city when you don't go any faster than say 12 mph, but for training?

i've only gone out in the rain with my race bike a few times in the rain and it sucked so much that i'll try to avoid it at all cost (that's not much of a cost for me, as i live in California)

anyhow - here's one thing that worked for me: wear no socks, or, if it's too cold for that, the thinnest socks possible. socks soaking up water + wind chill = extremely cold feet.
2006-05-12 12:27 PM

User image

Pro
Libertyville, IL