General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » new here, first tri a week n' a half away! Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2012-05-10 6:41 PM

Subject: new here, first tri a week n' a half away!

YIKES!  Did I actually say that?  A week and a half away?  Actually less than that!  

I'll be doing the Iron Girl Atlanta on the 20th of May...  this is my first tri...  and I'm fairly new to the idea that there's an athlete inside of me... so I'm extremely nervous about this!  

I feel that I'm a strong swimmer, but haven't been able to practice any open water swimming (am hoping to this weekend).  Although I guess I'm pretty nervous about the temperature of the water!  I'm pretty comfy with the running part....  I'm most nervous about the bike part...  it's 19 miles of evidently some pretty intense hills...  I can do 19 miles, but it's the hills I'm worried about, as hills are certainly not my forte.  I can see getting off and walking quite a bit, which will slow me down considerably....  and I'm afraid of not finishing that section of the race in the designated time and not having the opportunity to cross that finish line, even if it's dead last.   

I don't have any specific questions, other than how on earth do you get over the nerves???  I am able to maintain the attitude that I'm not in it to win it...  I'd LOVE to finish, but if I don't, I'll have showed up, which is more than I ever thought I could do. But I have momentary freak outs when I wonder what the hell I think I'm doing....  tee hee.  

Look forward to connecting...

~Lisa

2012-05-10 7:13 PM
in reply to: #4203484

User image

Expert
Prattville Insane Asylum San Antonio
Subject: RE: new here, first tri a week n' a half away!

Good Luck and Welcome!!!  I used to live in Cumming, GA for awhile, and I LOVE LOVE LOVE swimming in Lake Lanier, (I assume that is where the event will be for the OWS).  

The lake temp will probably be somewhere between 65-70, so pretty good!