General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Advice for sub 4 hour marathon Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2012-05-25 12:20 AM

User image

Subject: Advice for sub 4 hour marathon

Hi all. I'm writing to ask for some advice on how I might best reach my marathon goal of sub 4 hours. Here's a bit of relevant information about me:

I just finished my second marathon--the Colfax Marathon in Denver. I didn't really have a set goal going into the race, but I would have liked to run something near 4 hours. I ran a 4:30 (my first marathon was 4:22). Overall, I'm elated to have finished marathons without injury. With that said, I'd really like to run one in under 4 hours. I followed Hal Hidgon's novice II plan pretty closely, but, I was doing longer than required runs through the whole middle of the plan--my girlfriend was training for Boston, which was 5 weeks ahead of my plan, so I started training with her, and then dropped back to my schedule when she hit the week of an18 mile long run. I felt pretty good throughout training. Some long runs were a bit slow (10mm or so). My logs are up to date.

I think that the main thing limiting my performance is tight IT bands. During both marathons, after mile 18 or so, they really tighten up to the point where they hold me back more than any other type of fatigue. I get massages every once in a while (but not too often--I'm a grad student!) which helps a lot. Using a foam roller helps too, and I should probably do it more often.

I'm wondering (a) how I might curb my IT band problems, since I think that they are a main hurdle for a faster marathon and (b) what else might be slowing me down. Here are some ideas that I have that I think might help me, but I'm looking for advice on which of these I should really focus on, which of these might be counter-productive, etc. Any advice is appreciated!