General Discussion Triathlon Talk » New swimmer frustrated. I can only go 100m and I'm exhausted.. What gives? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 3

2012-06-13 9:07 PM

Subject: New swimmer frustrated. I can only go 100m and I'm exhausted.. What gives?
I am just starting to learn to swim the correct way and am taking lessons from an instructor whom supposedly knows what he's doing but I am getting frustrated.  I have had 3 lessons so far at $40 per hour and he hasn't got me swimming on my stomach yet we are just mainly working on side body balance etc.  Besides the 3 lessons I have probably been in the pool maybe a have dozen more times maybe a few more but barely if that.  I keep watching youtube videos etc to help me with technique etc but feel like I am swimming with a boat anchor.  I can literally only swim like 100m and I have to take a 30 second to a minute break before going any further.  At first I just blamed it on my size at 6'4 240 lbs but one day I watched a 300plus lb guy in the lane next to me swim for like an hour non stop and looked effortless.   I feel like I just got hit by a train after 100m.  Really sucks cause I can run a marathon, bike 100 miles but can't even swim 100m.  Is this typical or am I one of those cases where swimming just isn't going to be my thing?  I'm hoping that it's just inexperience and that I will get better over time.  I can tell you now though it's really frustrating..

2012-06-13 9:14 PM
in reply to: #4260733

User image

Royal(PITA)
West Chester, Ohio
Subject: RE: New swimmer frustrated. I can only go 100m and I'm exhausted.. What gives?